Troublemaker

troublemaker“Troublemaker, wake up. You may exchange cards between two other players.”

From ONUW, on Team Village

As the Troublemaker, you don’t have to switch anyone. If you don’t switch anyone you can lie and say you did. If you do switch two cards you can either say truthfully who you switched, lie about who you switched or say you didn’t switch anyone. Lying about who you switched has the advantage that if one of those players confess to having previously been a Werewolf, hoping to now lynch the person that received that card, you can then reveal that you didn’t in fact switch them and therefore they must still be the Werewolf who must be lynched. This strategy is most effective with beginner players.

While the Troublemaker is quite powerful when playing with beginners it is actually one of the least powerful when playing experienced players. After seeing many Werewolves claiming to be a Troublemaker, almost no one takes the Troublemaker at their word, and it provides no real information to the person who performed the Troublemaker role since they don’t get to look at any cards.

What do you think? Leave your thoughts in the comments section.

6 thoughts on “Troublemaker”

  1. The risk of Troublemaker having become werewolf is small (since you have not been “troublemade”), only Witch can do that (if not playing with vampires). So you can rather safely assume to be a villager and try to sort out what has happened with the cards. It usually helps if you start by claiming a switch that you’ve not done – people tend to start telling what they know when someone else has started telling…

    1. The Robber only steals the role, not act on it.
      So after they steal the original Troublemaker, they can see their new card, but that’s it. They can’t act on it.

  2. Can the Troublemaker touch cards, so that people think they heard their cards being swap when the Troublemaker is awake, but not actually swap the cards?

    1. I believe so, I don’t see why not, since the Troublemaker could accidentally touch cards, so they should be able to touch any cards as long as they don’t see any cards and while it’s their turn.

    2. There’s no rule prohibiting it, and by extension, ANY player that wakes up at any point can reposition cards in this way. A group agreement to do that forces players to talk about what they did or saw, rather than trying metagame to determine whether they got swapped.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *