“Alpha Wolf, wake up and exchange the Center Werewolf card for any other player’s card.”
From Daybreak, on Team Werewolf
Apart from playing like a normal Werewolf, the Alpha Wolf also needs to keep track of the center Werewolf card they gave to another player, including any subsequent switching it may have been subject to. Apart from ensuring he himself isn’t lynched he also needs to ensure that the freshly turned Werewolf also isn’t lynched. This can be made difficult because the freshly turned Werewolf won’t be playing in their own best interests.
The Alpha Wolf, together with the Minion, also needs to assess if it is likely that the Werewolves have a majority. Since there can be up to eight Team Werewolf cards in play the Alpha Wolf is crucial in outing the team Werewolf majority at the crucial moment.
If the Alpha Wolf finds he himself was switched he can out the player that he turned into a Werewolf, assuring a victory for the Village Team.
What do you think? Leave your thoughts in the comments section.
31 thoughts on “Alpha Wolf”
How does the Alpha Wolf know which centre card is the werewolf one without looking at all three cards?
When the alpha wolf is used a werewolf card is also placed in the middle separate to the normal three, so that there are four cards in the middle.
i haven’t played this game yet
One of the cards is sideways along the bottom and is not included in shuffling as it is a known WW card.
did u kknow if u defeet the alpha or you help it witch if u help it or feed it like 12 times he will gain ur trust but if u hurt it he will bite u and kill u
Do Alpha Wolf and Mystic Wolf wake up with normal werewolves?
So if I look at a guide on bet ONUW decks and it says Drunk, Alpha Wolf, P.I., Dream Wolf, Drunk, Insomniac, do I put in dream Wolf in play, or is that the center card?
The dream wolf doesn’t, look the dream wolf info page. The mystic wolf does though.
There’s a strategy to playing as Alpha that isn’t discussed here. The person you’re giving the card to will almost never know that they’re a WW. As such, you have to either find a way to subtly tell them (not likely) or watch their back in talks so their death doesn’t make you lose. The insomniac, seer, and apprentice seer have a way of knowing that they are now WW, and a robber who robs a new WW can infer that as well if they’re good.
Also, as a last ditch effort, an Alpha can come straight out and identify the WW team if they think they have the numbers and are about to die. Sadly, in my experience, my only time trying this the new WW and the Minion voted for me anyway (why minion? Why???)
In a game with more than one wolf, the Alpha Wolf can also place the card on the other wolf. In this scenario, all wolves know they are wolves (barring being trouble made, witched, or robbed). The biggest advantage being that you don’t accidentally change the Minion, Tanner, or Hunter into a wolf.
This sounds like a cop-out, but it can be used effectively because it is unexpected.
And nothing is preventing the Alpha Wolf from dropping hints that he turned a villager or claiming that the wolves have the numbers.
The downsides are:
– If there’s a Paranormal Investigator, you reduce the odds of him seeing a wolf.
– You miss the small chance of changing the Insomniac. She would have known she is a wolf and would have played accordingly.
I am with Rob. If the Hunter still thinks he is Hunter, he will try to die and kill a wolf. But if he is now a wolf, he will lose for team wolf.
The rules mention the Alpha Wolf can’t actually convert a fellow werewolf; they have to convert a non-werewolf player.
When you are playing with a deck, let’s say Alpha Wolf, Dream Wolf, Robber, Seer, Drunk, for example, is the Dream Wolf actually in or is it the center card?
In my experience, rolesets never mention the centre werewolf card, so you’d shuffle the Dream Wolf in with the other roles and place a different Werewolf in the centre.
Yes, at the start of the game, shuffle the wolf cards you are using, put one separate for the Alpha Wolf to use. I hate when it is the Alpha Wolf that is separated!
When the werewolves wake and identify each other, can the alpha wolf point at who they made a werewolf?
TL;DR: Technically he can, but it is ill-advised
The Alpha Wolf, as well as The Mystic Wolf, both go after all The Werewolves wake. The Alpha Wolf could indicate who he is going to change ahead of time, but I feel like that could start to unravel the fun. If The Alpha Wolf indicates, he outs himself as The Alpha Wolf, as well as the other soon-to-be wolf. This ruins part of the mystery, as well as the balance between teams if the Werewolves get to much knowledge.
Plus, if The Alpha Wolf gets switched by a different card later, outting the other wolf during the night would stack the odds against him in the first place. The Werewolves find out The Troublemaker switched The Alpha Wolf with a non-wolf, The other wolves could reveal this information to the player who became The Alpha Wolf, as well as The Alpha Wolf’s target. This could result in the loss of the player who pointed to who he would change.
How many werewolves can go into one game?
What if 2 werewolves, the alpha, mystic, dreamwolf are all in, does that not mean they have an immediate majority ?
How ste they supposed to be set up ?
It depends on multiple factors
First off, you need to have at least one spare card from the Werewolf team to use as the Alpha’s center werewolf card, and this can be any card that says “Wolf” on it.
Second, whether it is a majority depending on the amount of werewolves that aren’t in the three center cards, and also how many players there are.
Say, for example, you’re playing with the Mystic, Alpha, and both the normal Werewolves, and there are 8 players in the game. If all four werewolves are not in the center, then there will be a majority when the Alpha does his action (unless werewolf cards are put back in the center, by means of the Witch, Drunk, etc.).
But, it could also happen that three of the werewolves are in the center, and only one player wakes up on the wolf team. This means there is a significant majority, there only being one wolf or two if the player is the Alpha (however, once again, the werewolf cards in the center can be brought into play by the Witch, Drunk, etc.)
So yes, you can play with many wolf cards, but it could easily cause significant wolf inbalance.