“Copycat, wake up and look at one of the center cards. You are now that role. If that role is called, wake up and do that action.”
Unfortunately, the Copycat is mostly a pointless card in ONUV. Since no other cards in ONUV look at any center cards the Copycat may have copied, including the Copycat in any game is functionally equivalent to playing each ONUV game with one less card than normal. A small exception to this is that if you play with the Copycat card and the Marksman looks at the Copycat’s card then they get less information than if you simply ditched the Copycat and started the game with one less card.
Copycat does have some interesting dynamics when played with ONUW and Daybreak. The Seer, Apprentice Seer or Witch can verify/refute what the Copycat say they did. Similarly, if a copycat and an Alpha Wolf are both in play, the copycat could look at the center werewolf card and three wolves may wake up at night.
Normally, during pre-game card selection, it is hard to decide which among the wide selection of really interesting cards to include, so Copycat is an easy choice to leave out.
What do you think? Leave your thoughts in the comments section.
13 thoughts on “Copycat”
The Copycat is the one card that can be seamlessly added to the regular One Night Ultimate Werewolf game, while all the other cards must be played with the vampire version. Which is why I added this card to the online version in Tabletop Simulator.
Most of the time when I play as this card I will claim to be the card that I saw in the center, this leaves the Copycat open for someone else to claim, and if anyone does claim it you can call them out. If a Seer or Witch call you out, you can usually clear up suspicion by explaining your reason for lying and pointing out where you saw the card in the center.
I thought the CopyCat wasn’t allowed to look at the Alpha Wolf card (the forth center werewolf card)
The rules don’t disallow it
The alpha wolf card is considered a center card.
If the Copycat looks at the Doppelganger, does he then perform the action of the Doppelganger by looking at another player’s card and then becoming that player’s role?
And if the Doppelganger looks at another player’s card and sees the Copycat, does she then do the action of the Copycat and become the card she saw in the center?
The instructions for Copycat is to look at one of the center cards and is to do that night action if that role is called. So yes, since Copycat comes before Doppleganger, he would look at another player’s card and do that role as well.
As for your second question, I am not exactly sure, but I would assume that it would also apply. Either way, that would be one interesting coincidence if that did happen! Hope this helps!
The Doppelganger who saw the Copycat does not take the Copycat’s action. Otherwise, there would be cases where the Doppelganger and Copycat would both wake up at the same time. (e.g. If both looked in the center and saw the Seer, they would both wake up during the Seer phase.)
Yep. Basically it is that the Doppelganger is whatever role the Copycat viewed, but unlike the Copycat, they do not wake up or do any actions related to that role since they actually do not know what the Copycat saw
Just to be clear –
The copy cat only sees one of the center cards, but DOES NOT swap it right?
(Like the drunk or robber)
That is correct. The copycat doesn’t swap the cards, the copycat’s card now counts as the role they saw.
If the copycat card gets switched in the night does it matter or is he still the role that he looked at in the center when the game ends?
TL:DR The role that the Copycat looks at stays with the card, not the player.
Lets say that the Copycat saw the robber in the center. As far as this round is concerned, the copycat card is now a robber/village team card. The player who starts as copycat will wake as the robber, and do the robber’s action. This moves the copycat card around. Whoever ends the night with the robber card is considered to be on the village team when it comes time for voting (unless marks, artifacts, or similar things are applied). The player who started with the copycat, and now has a new card, is on the team of his new card.
If the role stayed with the player who had copycat at the start, that would mean when the copycat card ends up with a different player, that player has no role, and the copycat would now be two roles, which doesn’t make sense in the game.
Everyone does the action of their first card, and wins as their last card.